Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket





chocolate-covered bean


So, I made the brownies for the party during naptime yesterday. When Alex got up, we went outside to play in the SIXTY TWO degree sunshine. SIXTY TWO, people! Skip-to-m'-Lou!

We were out there for about an hour-and-a-half when Bean started itching to go back inside for a bit. My neighbor, Tracei, whom I hadn't seen in a coon's age (because of the forced winter hibernation) had come over and was standing at the end of my driveway for a brief chat. I watched Alex take note that Mama's-eyes-are-not-on-me-like-lasers-for-a-minute and saw her jog over to the door and go inside. Minutes later she reappeared at the dining room window, sucking those fingers and waving to Tracei and me like she hadn't seen us for weeks.

And then, she disappeared. Now, I know and you know that the minute a kid gets out of eye-shot, trouble is afoot. I quickly wrapped up the conversation with Tracei and hot-footed it into the house.

Upon my entry, I discovered a sweet little Minnie-Mouse-shaped head (Bean had her piggy-tails/twin puffballs goin' yesterday) silhouetted against the dusky light of the kitchen window. One arm was suspended in mid-air, clutching a large, gooey spatula. As I got closer and began to be able to recognize facial features, I noted that they were ALL COVERED IN OOEY, GOOEY DELICIOUS CHOCOLATE. The nose, perky and cute, with a dollop of still-warm brownie perched jauntily on its tip. The cheeks, squooshing merrily, smeared with melty, rich frosting and a few wayward hunks of crumb, the mouth, curled up into a blissful smile, layered in delicious fudgy ooze, and the teeth completely blacked out by a mouthful of succulent brownie heaven.

When that face saw MY face, the half-closed, dreamy eyes immediately popped to saucer size and the eyebrows lept upward as if trying to climb on top of the puffballs to escape the rising water of mother-ire.

But.

Who could be MAD at a kid who had innocently stumbled upon such a lush, inviting treat and NOT been warned not to indulge? The look on her face when I FIRST saw her - the "ohmygosh I have died and gone to HEAVEN!" look - well, I could SO identify with that look. Inside that little two year old lives a chocolate loving woman just like me... she's part of a sisterhood... I can't punish her for embracing her own HERITAGE, can I?

About a quarter of the brownies had been transformed into brownie pudding. Another corner appeared to have been hopped on by a couple of small, happy birds. Half of the pan (although not a contiguous half - I had to carefully mitre out the damaged half like little puzzle pieces) was relatively unblemished, so I was able to cut and salvage those for the party.

First thing out of Alex's mouth today when I went in to spring her from her bed?

Is it party time?! I reminded her the party's tomorrow.

Daddy just called, and Alex took the phone to declare, Hi Daddy. Wissen, the party doesn't come today. You wait. Iss party time to-my-yoh, okay Daddy?










Lilypie 3rd Birthday PicLilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker



(Lyrics to Summer's Here by James Taylor.)


adopt your own virtual pet!

Cully has been brought out of retirement just for our sweet friend Abbey, because she likes to feed him steak! Cully says "Thanks for the grrrrreat steak, Abbey! Yum yum! Purrr..."